List Emailer Help

Help Center

Working with the byteMailer System

Link Descriptions

Next >>

 

byteMailer Manage Home:
This summary screen shows you a partial list of the most recent newsletters, lists, and reports, along with their current status. Click directly on a newsletter, list or report link to go to the first step screen for that record. Or click the ‘Actions’ button to take quick action on a particular record; whether editing, previewing, sending, duplicating, or deleting it. You can also start from scratch by clicking the ‘Create New’ button to start a new Newsletter or List.

Newsletters:
The page displays a full list of either the unsent Newsletters or the sent newsletters. Click the appropriate top button to toggle back and forth between the two lists. Click directly on a newsletter link to go to the first step screen for that record. Or click the ‘Actions’ button to take quick action on a particular record; whether editing, previewing, sending, duplicating, or deleting it. You can also start from scratch by clicking the ‘Add’ button to start a new newsletter.

Images:
Use this link to clean out no-longer-used images or linked files to keep the server cleaned up. This link is provided because, although you can upload images and files to the server right in the newsletter editor, you cannot delete them there.

Lists:
This page displays a full list of the different mail lists you have set up. There should be a minimum of two lists here; at least one for your main list (although you may have more), and a test list to test your newsletter on before you send it to the masses. The test list is usually an internal list of people you want to see the newsletter before it goes out.

Users:
This list may look like a mail list, but it is a listing of every person on every mail list combined. Notice the column called ‘List Count.’ A quick view at this list tells you how many mail lists the person is subscribed to. If you see a zero here, then the person is in your system, but is not subscribed to any of your lists. You may choose to delete this person if you think they will never be back, or maybe it’s a red flag that this person needs to be included somewhere. Notice that this is where you can ‘Add’ a new user, or ‘Search’ for an existing user using the buttons at the top of the page.

Reports:
This summary screen shows you quick report information about all your past newsletters that have already gone out. Click on a report record, or its corresponding ‘Action’ button to view a summary report for each individual newsletter.

Interests:
Interests are a way to subcategorize the content that people on your mail list will receive. For example, let’s assume your mail list is about gardening. Every person on your mail list will get a newsletter, but if we incorporate Interests, then only people interested in roses will receive the portion of your newsletter about roses, people only concerned with growing vegetables will get that portion, and they won’t have to read about roses, etc. If Interests are incorporated, they are selected either by the person who enters them as a user, or on the subscription form itself when someone signs up for your newsletter.

Settings:
This screen is where the administrative settings are provided. The time zone will be used when recording what time each Newsletter goes out, was received, etc. The primary contact email will be used as the return address at the top of your newsletter. It will also be the email account that you can send a preliminary test newsletter to before you send it out for approval to your test list.

Trash:
Any time you delete a newsletter or list, it ends up in this trash receptacle. From here you can restore any deleted items that you may have deleted in error, or just later choose to restore and use. There is no provision to permanently delete a newsletter or list. If you would like to do that, then you will need to contact us.